Talking about lagging behind

If I thought last week was bad, this week is abysmal. At least I’ve been writing every day, but haven’t cracked 1,000 words any day so far; I’m lucky if I’ve broken a hundred some days.

The reason: work, which is an increasingly frustrating and thankless job (someday perhaps I’ll share some more about why that is), and the corresponding despair.

To despair is human. Believe that if you believe nothing else.

The solution? Oh, I’d say about 2,000 words or so of noveldrivel. That small victory will perk a person up.

3 thoughts on “Talking about lagging behind

  1. Heh.

    I did NaNoWriMo two years ago and it was murder, far more stressful than NaPoWriMo ever was.

    In the poetry month, you could always write a couplet or haiku, or prose-with-line-breaks if you were puched for time. But the sheer volume of words needed each day for the novel takes time in itself.

    It’s easy to say – Oh I’ll just write 2000 words of complete rubbish each day for the next week to get back on track – but the problem will be motivation. There’s got to be a quality bassline before it becomes fun.

    However, I scraped through and I’m sure you will too. Best of luck for the rest of the month.

  2. Thanks, guys. I go on vacation day after tomorrow, and that involves a variety of things including a very long plane ride. I plan to make up the shortfall and to catch up then.

    And Rik, I’m sure you’re right!

Leave a Reply

