On why 2543 is a cool number

Well, cos it’s so full of strong, almost primary colours:

2543

So OK, I have graphemic synaesthesia, which simply means that I see letters and numbers in colour. (I also consciously locate my letters and numbers and units of time in space; my alphabet and my numbers aren’t only coloured, they migrate — down a hillside and into a rabbit-hole in the case of my letters, only to come out again, up a staircase that makes Escheresque right-angle turns in the case of my numbers, and I won’t go into my days and weeks and months and years and seasons right now).

And OK, green isn’t a primary colour (except in when we’re talking about lights). But from an anthropological point of view, red (with white and black) is a basic, basic colour, being the colour of blood; blue is another basic, basic colour, being a variation of black, and being the colour of the sky; and green’s another basic, basic colour (and one of the earliest to be added to language), being the colour of grass and trees and crops.

3 thoughts on “On why 2543 is a cool number

  1. “I also consciously locate my letters and numbers and units of time in space”

    That’s really pretty darned neat. Do your alphabet and numbers always migrate through the same rabbit-hole and up the same staircase?

    I don’t do that with numbers or letters, but I have a weird association with words. The word ‘video game’ reminds me of bubble gum. Certain words I think of as being a particular color. Another thing I’ve always done -and this is weird, and weird for me too- is to associate people or a look of a particular person with a food. A boy I went to school with in second grade reminded me of tomales. Don’t ask me why. William Shatner reminds me of mashed potatoes. I won’t go on.

    “and I won’t go into my days and weeks and months and years and seasons right now”

    Well, if you ever do feel like going into it, I’m interested.

  2. Hey, Heather! Yep, they always go through the same rabbit-hole & up the same staircase. I’m gonna put the full answer on the main blog.

    What you do with words sounds equally interesting. And it’s always futile to ask why. No one knows!

Leave a Reply

