Heather asked me whether numbers & letters

go through the same rabbit-hole and up the same stairs.

The answer is yes. It’s as though they’re standing in the same positions relative to the stairs and the rabbit-hole. The hole starts around P – L, M and N are standing right in front of it, and Q, R, S, T, U, V and W are inside it. X and Y are at the back entrance/exit, and Z’s just coming out.

My numbers go up a dark ladder from 1-10, then there’s a right-angle turn and a set of stairs that comes out into the light for the double-digits up to 20, another turn into the shade to thirty, and then a set of numbers more more or less on the same angle, going up broader and smaller steps, up to 100, when there’s another turn into the light again, up to 1000, when there’s another turn, and so on. By the time they get to 1,000,000, they’re so tiny (the steps and the numbers) that I can hardly see them any more.

My husband laughs at me because I have a real problem with zeroes when I do arithmetic. It’s because big numbers, specially ones with zeroes (like numbers in the thousands, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands and millions) keep getting smaller and smaller so that I can’t see them in my head any more.

Dates? They’re worth another post.

One thought on “Heather asked me whether numbers & letters

  1. I still can’t get past how neat this image is. It’s one of those things I would have love to have seen illustrated, complete with fading zeros, in a book when I was a kid. And now. Thank you.

    What’s the predominating color theme?

    Yes, dates!

Leave a Reply

