For Heather, who asked: Time, the week

My week, unlike my clock, has a linear kind of shape. It’s difficult to describe. Imagine a series of seven skyscrapers, building blocks, or some such collection. Now imagine you’re standing on the tallest one, looking down at the next six. Now imagine that you are looking at this from a point that could be described as about seven o’clock, or 210 degrees, or SSW, and you’re looking NNE. You’re standing on Sunday, and you’re looking at the week before you.

Okay, so that’s how you begin. But the days of the week have colours as well. Monday’s tinged with red, Tuesday’s the yellow-grey colour of a bruise, Wednesday’s a dirty yellow (not yellow-grey, but yellow-brown), Thursday’s grey, Friday’s some light shimmery colour that’s impossible to pin down, Saturday’s white, Sunday’s black and white and bright.

And now add in light and shade, without which my associations are always incomplete. The weekend’s bright. Monday starts off in the shadow of Sunday, and it’s a shorter block/building than Sunday (which is the highest). Tuesday’s shorter than Monday, and is in shadow. Wednesday’s not in shadow so much, so I guess it must be taller than Tuesday. Thursday’s the shortest of all, and dark. Friday’s coming into the light, and it’s almost as tall as Saturday, which is light. But because the sun (you) are shining from the direction of the Sunday before, Saturday and Sunday catch all of it, and are almost blinding in their light.

Could I draw this? Not on your life. I’d have no idea how to show ALL the days. The weekend would block out the week.

But there it is.

2 thoughts on “For Heather, who asked: Time, the week

  1. Wow! I must say that’s complicated, but so fascinating! 🙂
    I tried to get it all in my head, but only got so far.

    Here’s a question for you: When you remember things you have to do on certain days of the week, do you place visual images in in your days of the week picture?

    I hope that didn’t sound too confusing.

    I remember reading somewhere that when the ancient Greeks used to memorize poetry they had a sort of room they pictured in their minds, and could place certain things in that visual storehouse, much in the same way that you decorate a room with art and furniture.

    Thanks for posting more on your synaesthesia.

  2. Hey.

    I don’t generally remember what I have to do on certain days of the week, unless I write it down somewhere. I just see the weeks like that. The weekdays and the hours don’t intersect. The so-called “buildings” in the week are more like building blocks, I guess, than things with rooms.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

