Zzzzzzz …

Scavella’s blog has gone to sleep.

No, I’m not dead. Nor have I given up on writing this blog. But (as those of you who follow my presence at PFFA may have noticed) it’s just that my Real Life is interfering.

Right now, for my job, I’m spending half of each day writing prose. No, it’s not something that can be shared on the web, at least not through this blog, and it’s not something that can be talked about (my job has its own little confidentialities), but it’s enough to keep me from blogging. Moderating on PFFA’s about all I can do, and apparently not always all that well.

And on top of that, there’s freelance stuff. I have to produce a weekly column too, which means that every weekend I write some more prose.

And on top of that, there’s part-time lecturing. I’m back in the classroom, which energizes me, but teaching’s also a jealous profession, almost as jealous as writing.

And then there’s my novel, which I’m trying to sell (not the one I was drafting here — that’s a later instalment — but its mother), and which I work on when I’m not working on the other jobs that actually do pay me. The novel makes me happier, but it’s all on spec. The other jobs put money in the bank.

So: prose in the day, prose in the night, prose in the morning, and on and on. There’s not much left over for poetry right now.

And so, this blog has been a-doze for the last week or so.

But I’m not dead. Keep your eyes peeled. I’ll be popping in now and then with goodies I discover here and there.

And soon, very soon, I’m going to be back in action on a regular basis.

Promise.

Leave a Reply

