Sick Day

which probably explains why I felt it profitable to be distracted by shiny, silly things like this:

What American accent do you have?

Your Result: The Northeast

 

 

Judging by how you talk you are probably from north Jersey, New York City, Connecticut or Rhode Island. Chances are, if you are from New York City (and not those other places) people would probably be able to tell if they actually heard you speak.

Philadelphia

 

 

The Inland North

 

 

The Midland

 

 

The South

 

 

Boston

 

 

The West

 

 

North Central

 

 

What American accent do you have?
Quiz Created on GoToQuiz

Shiny and silly, I say, because I am not, and have never been, an American.

That said, there are plenty of connections between my country and the USA that go back well into the wells of time. The two countries were permanently settled by people from beyond these continents (are my politics correct enough?) within 30 years of one another — 1621 for the US, 1648 for The Bahamas. The settlers were nonconformists. Ours depended on the kindness of stranger-relatives in the Carolinas for years. So there’s really no surprise that my “American” accent is similar to the north-east. It’s probably even closer to Boston, when it’s not masking itself with generic British, and when it’s not getting mistaken for more southern West Indian.

(I do not, under any circumstances, say “mon”. God. Maan, more like.)

Now this, in the main, has a ring of truth to it:

What mental disorder do you have?

Your Result: OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder)

 

 

You have odd obsessions that you cannot seem to control. You may even perform rituals to make you feel better. Counting and continuously obsessing over things happens frequently.

ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder)

 

 

Paranoia

 

 

GAD (Generalized Anxiety Disorder)

 

 

Manic Depressive

 

 

What mental disorder do you have?

I’m not paranoid. Stop looking at me like that.

4 thoughts on “Sick Day

  1. It seems dialectically I’m Philadelphian, an odd situation as I’ve spent a grand total of 3 hours in Philadelphia in my life. And I suffer from General Anxiety Disorder. Alas, neither one of the results showed up properly when posted to “The Compost Heap,” so now I’m worried about why.

  2. Apparently I am also a Northeastern American, which although technically true (my mother was born in Philadelphia and grew up in New Jersey) I most definitely do not have an American accent. Although the other day someone did ask me if I was Canadian, which surprised me as I couldn’t sound more English if I tried.

    I’m paranoid, apparently, but I think it’s a conspiracy.

  3. I’ve come to the conclusion that if one has anything suspiciously like an English accent, this test will classify it as Northeastern/Philadelphian. It’s resolutely ethnocentric and nationalistic and probably should not be at large on the web.

    H, this doesn’t show up as it should in either of my page templates, so I wouldn’t worry if I were you.

    If it shows up correctly on Julie’s page, then paranoia be damned — it is a conspiracy. Of immense proportions.

  4. Eloise has beaten me to the punch – & I thought I was being so clever. Philadelphia for me too. Some years ago a woman in a bar in Dayton, Oregon, insisted that I was German & thought I was taking the piss when I insisted that I was English.

Leave a Reply

