I was going to post something Big today

but then I chickened out.

The time didn’t seem dramatically right.

Here was my week:

Monday – work.  Meetings.  A press conference I didn’t know anything about.  Scramble to finish some stuff — like to get bills paid and so on because the budget year is coming to a close and our government’s budgets don’t carry over from year to year.  They close and open and there’s a gap of about two to four weeks when no bills can be paid because it’s a black-out period when the fine ants (finance people) crawl all over the spending and earning of the last year and analyze and report on it.  We’re in it now.

Tuesday – work.  Early meeting.  More meetings behind that.  A long lunch to come home and pack.  Back to the office to do some paperwork.  From work straight to the gallery where I was giving the reading.  Not a bad turnout, some people I haven’t seen in a long time, and a good response to the work.  (I will post a summary of what I read, I promise, and I will also post soundbites, but maybe not for a while, not till I have the time to put them together.)

Wednesday – up at 3:30 to catch a plane.  Flew all day basically to get to a meeting in the southern Caribbean.  Flew American Airlines.  Note to self, if self can help it:  NEVER AGAIN.  They have stopped serving food on certain flights — like flights to the southern Caribbean (do they serve food on flights that lead to and from whiter countries, I wonder?).  Having been travelling since 4:30 a.m., I did not eat.  I wanted airplane food, believe it or not.  Thank Amex for its plasticness.  I had to PAY $5 FOR A SANDWICH.   It’s not worth the miles I earn.

Thursday – up at 6:30 to get to the meeting. Met all day.  The country hosting the meeting sent us on a boat ride for dinner.  Went to bed at 12:30.

Friday – up at 7:00 to get to the meeting.  Met all day.  At the end of the day was informed that our call time for transport back to the airport yesterday was 3:30 a.m. Negotiation got it pushed back to 5:00.  Went to the special dinner planned for the delegates, but skipped the cultural show after.

Saturday – up at 3:45 to clear out of the room, check out, and get to the airport.  Flew out at 7:10.  HAD TO PAY $5 FOR MY BREAKFAST – which was a variation on the lunch I paid $5 for on Wednesday.  Not happy.  BOYCOTT AMERICAN AIRLINES (I may not be able to; it seems to be the airline of choice for our government).  But we caught an earlier plane out of Miami so that was a good thing.

Sunday – have a funeral, a radio programme, and some other stuff to do today.

Poetry is the last thing on my mind.

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “I was going to post something Big today

Leave a Reply

