Corduroy Mansions & Alexander McCall Smith

This is what I’m “reading” in my spare time.  Rather, I’m having it read to me as I drive around town — McCall Smith’s Corduroy Mansions, a serial novel in the Telegraph.

Having just discovered podcasts, I’ve been downloading it and listening to it in traffic.  

And marvelling about the communications revolution we’re all probably taking for granted.  But more on that later.  Here’s a little quiet inspiration for all the writers out there, courtesy of AMS:

One of the things about the serial novel that appeals to McCall Smith is that “it lends itself to the exploration of ideas”.

You can nudge consciences, stimulate debate, get people to think about the sort of world they live in.

While he makes no large claims for the literary merits of his books, he is quietly insistent that literature itself is a force for good in the world.

“Every single day, I get letters – very moving, overwhelming letters – testifying how much my books have meant to people in times of crisis in their lives, when they were very ill, say. If I ever doubted that writing could play an important part in people’s lives, I don’t doubt that now.”

via Alexander McCall Smith: from Botswana to Corduroy Mansions, Pimlico – Telegraph

Leave a Reply

