Literary Geek Meme

Harry tagged me.

On FaceBook, no less.

“You have received this note because someone thinks you are a literary geek. Copy the questions into your own note, answer the questions, and tag any friends who would appreciate the quiz, including the person who sent you this.”

1) What author do you own the most books by?
No clue. I would have to count and we really don’t have the time. Probably a writer of murder mysteries, though – possibly Christie or Sayers. They’re that prolific.

2) What book do you own the most copies of?
The Bible.

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Not any more.

4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Could I be more cliché? Mr. Darcy. Oh, you said secretly. Oh, well. That’s a different story altogether. That would probably be Strider/Aragorn. Or Lord Peter Wimsey. Or –

Hell and damnation. This multiracial Caribbean closet Marxist has a raft of crushes on upper class white Englishmen. What does that say about me, I wonder?

4a) What fictional character would you most like to be?
Strider/Aragorn.

Not a clue, really.

4b) What fictional character do you think most resembles you?
Not a clue. I shall give this more thought and get back to you. Maybe. I would like to say Nancy Blackett from the Ransome books, but I would be lying.

5) What book have you read the most times in your life?
No clue. I reread childhood classics faithfully and religiously. The Chronicles of Narnia get a workout. So do Arthur Ransome’s books. But then so do all the Sayers mysteries as well. But possibly the Bible – the New Testament and the Psalms particularly. Or Proverbs.

6) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?

When I was ten? Do you know how many books I was reading when I was ten? Hm.

Probably The Magician’s Nephew. I think I read that when I was ten. No– maybe that was when I was seven.
I can’t remember one bit.

Oh yes, I know what it could have been. It might have been World’s End was Home by Nan Chauncy. I remember really really liking that book. But when I read it I don’t know. Maybe that was later.

7) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
I stay away from bad books these days. There isn’t enough time in the world.

8 ) What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Hang on, I’ll have to consult the iPhone and see.

9) If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
Oh, just for kicks, I’d say the Bible. The King James Version, not the rubbish that came after (ot even the RSV). Just because. You can’t read western literature intelligently without it.

10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?
God. For the Bible.

I don’t know.

11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
The Bible.

12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
Finnegans Wake.

13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
Do you have any idea how many dreams I have?

14) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
Ha! I read mystery novels for enjoyment, so it would have to be one of them.

15) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
Ulysses I suppose.

16) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
Pericles.

17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
The French. Except Chekhov, of course.

18) Roth or Updike?
Updike I suppose. I’m a thoroughly British gal, though.

19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
No clue.

20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Shakespeare.

21) Austen or Eliot?
Austen, unless the Eliot in question is Thomas.

22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
Oh, hell, don’t get me started. I have read virtually nothing that has been critically acclaimed since about 1992. Don’t ask why; I have no clue.

23) What is your favorite novel?
I plead the fifth. The Great Gatsby comes to mind as something that could qualify, though.

24) Play?
Dear heaven. I’ll give a shortlist of playwrights, OK? Shakespeare, Wilson (August), Wilson (Lanford), Miller (Arthur), Saunders (Winston), Strachan (Ian). If I had to pick it would be one of them. And no, none are women. Don’t ask.

25) Poem?
Something by Eliot, T. S.
The Four Quartets perhaps.
Followed closely by something by Yeats. His middle-late period perhaps. Or one of Keats’ Odes.

26) Essay?
I really like Levi-Strauss’s “The Bear and the Barber”.

27) Short story?
Give me a minute, I’ll think of one.

28) Work of non-fiction?
Maybe Tristes Tropiques by Claude Lévi-Strauss.

29) Who is your favorite writer?
What kind of question is this?

30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
No clue. I don’t know how people are rated.

31) What is your desert island book?
Oh, well. The Bible? It’s a cop-out, I know.

32) And … what are you reading right now?
Just when would you be thinking about? I’m reading my blog right now. Oh, you mean a book … well …

Leave a Reply

