Happy New Year

So. This blog (Scavella’s Blogsphere) is now going for five years old, having been established sometime in 2005 over on Blogspot. In that time much has changed. In the beginning, I walked anonymous in cyberspace, using my Scavella moniker as a cloak to my real identity, not sure how to use the blog, nor what for (it was mostly for poetry back then). Since then, this has become one of five blogs that I administer, each of them for a different purpose, and each of them more and more time-consuming.

This being a new year, and time being one of those commodities that is easy to waste and impossible to keep, I’m changing the way I deal with this blog. What was once a refuge is becoming a burden; I really don’t have the time to write down the cool things I once put here on Blogsphere, and I don’t have the application to develop the poetry of the blog in a way that can rival Rob’s Surroundings, or Aditi Machado’s Blotting Paper or the fascinating trivia that can compete with Harry’s Heraclitean Fire, or the confessional-made-great-reading of Julie’s Carter’s Little Pill.

I just don’t have the time.

So here’s the thing. I’m announcing today, on the first day of the new year, as we count them anyway, on the first day of the new decade, that I’m going to let this blog sink into a deep sleep, if that’s where it’s headed. I don’t know that it is; but I do know that I have less stuff to say, or perhaps less energy to say it with, and differently. Maybe I’ll just point this to tweets or other blog posts to let people know what I’m up to elsewhere. I might even make it a point to post something new at least once a month, if that’s possible; maybe more. But for now, at least until my life stops bouncing and screaming at me, the Blogsphere is likely to be be quiet.

But don’t take it off your blogrolls just yet. Who knows? We might just all be surprised.

Happy new year!


Just for reference, here are the other blogs that take up my time:

Blogworld

Ringplay

Shakespeare in Paradise

Madison Hill (just about dead — in use only for NaNoWriMo)

tongues of the ocean (more a job than a blog, but it works like a blog, and takes up time, and is fun to read, so I had to include it)

Cheers.

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. I’d be sorry if this blog did join the ranks of the dead or abandoned, but lord knows it’s hard enough sometimes maintaining momentum just with one blog. So I’m not surprised you feel like that… no need to make any decision very final, though. [some kind of appropriate smiley]

Leave a Reply

